Tuesday, 29 November 2011

10+ Wardstone Chronicles 9: I am Grimalkin - Joseph Delaney

Release Date: 01/09/11


'I am Grimalkin, and I have already chosen those I will kill...' Grimalkin has made it her lifetime ambition to destroy the Fiend, avenging the brutal murder of her son. Having grudgingly joined forces with the Spook and his apprentice, Tom, and assisted them in the binding of the Fiend, she is now on the run. And her mission is deadly. She has to help them bind the Fiend's spirit for ever no matter who - or what - comes after it ...This latest chilling instalment in the "Wardstone Chronicles" follows Grimalkin, the terrifying witch assassin, feared wherever she is known.


The latest book in the Spooks series and the first that has the tale told by another character, in this case Grimalkin the infamous witch assassin who fights against the fiends cronies who seek to reunite his head with his body. It’s cleverly written and the reader gets a real sense of the body count that is going to be coming in the final few instalments and sadly it appears that not everyone is going to survive.

As with the other stories its wonderfully written, the cast is delightful (and freakishly scary where they have to be) and when you add to the mix local knowledge of the area’s where the battles play out, the reader is in for a real treat. Finally add to this cracking prose and pace as well as a dark foreboding history and the reader has a real treat in store. Cracking.

No comments:

Post a Comment